Artist of the Week: Joseph DeLappe

Joseph DeLappe is a Professor of the Department of Art at the University of Nevada, he directs the Digital Media Program there. Much of DeLappe’s work is in the form of online games, sculptures, drawing and installations. A neat fact about DeLappe is that his themes include a lot of current events such as politics. His work has been featured all over the world. One of DeLappes most popular projects is dead-in-iraq project, which is essentially a memorial dedicated to those who have lost their lives in the Iraq war.

The piece that was my favorite was the Mouse Mandala (pictured above) he created that piece using used, broken or otherwise discarded computer mice. DeLappe notes that he began building the piece back in 1999. A blurb on his website notes

“the mice were first collected at my computer lab at UNR, as I began to collect these I bought hundreds at a time, in bulk, through electronics surplus stores in the Silicon Valley. The work is inspired by thoughts of contemporary cubicle work cultures while also paying a wry tribute to the weavers and craftspersons whose lives were upended by the industrial revolution in the United Kingdom (and the resulting “Luddite” revolution). This is an ongoing project, I hope one day to find a location to continue weaving the piece to a diameter of 50′.”

I think this was my favorite because the whole exhibition is called Office Space, one of my favorite movies, and being bound to a cubicle myself for many years it totally spoke to me. I also think it’s amazing that he’s been working on this for 17 years!

 

 

Leave a Reply

