Artist of the Week – Andy Warhol

Andy_Warhol_by_Jack_Mitchell

This weeks artist is Andy Warhol. I was already familiar with his art and with his prints but never really considered looking into him. It’s like I knew of him but not about him. This week was a really good chance to look into him a little more. I ended up looking more into him as a person than into his art… not sure if thats bad or not.

I learned that  he just didn’t make prints but he also made films and videos and  performance art. Some of his more famous pieces include photos of artists (such as the Elvis piece below) Campbells soup cans, a banana and even vacuum cleaners!

eight-elvises-eight-1963-andy-warhol

What I read about and found most interesting about Andy was not his like for celebrities or pop culture but his use of animals in his art. In 1954 he released a book of cat prints called 25 Cats Name Sam and One Blue Pussy which he worked on with his mom. I also learned that he was crazy about his weenie dog Archie (first photo) which he released some prints of. Yay for Archie!

10160895_1_l

This weeks artist is Andy Warhol. I was already familiar with his art and with his prints but never really considered looking into him. It’s like I knew of him but not about him. This week was a really good chance to look into him a little more. I ended up looking more into him as a person than into his art… not sure if thats bad or not. Because he is so high profile, there was tons of information, more than I could get through.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

