Ana Mendieta

 

9183a000d415c8adc2e3a7ca4bd61e19

tumblr_n2arvv4zyq1qdrgo9o2_1280.jpg

 

My art is grounded in the belief of one universal energy which runs through everything: from insect to man, from man to spectre, from spectre to plant from plant to galaxy. – Ana Mendita 

Ana Mendieta was a Cuban born artist, who primarily used her body as the canvas for her art work. She is best known for her Earth-Body artwork. Her themes included feminism.

At first, I was really intimidated by Ana Mendieta. I was not sure what to think or what to feel. He work, using her body was interesting. I became very curios.I chose these  photos and decided to interpret them on my own with the bit of information I acquired about her. The first set, is said to be representative of physical abuse, these  were interesting to me because at first, they look like someone is being silly pressing their face against glass. And if I hadn’t read the background I would’ve have never thought about abuse. The second photo, which is Mendieta covered in feathers with her vagina exposed, I read is supposed to represent sacrifice and and animal that is supposed to be killed to represent a new life. Personally, I think that this speaks directly with her being a woman and maybe all the things one has to give up to be a mother or freedom that you must give up as a woman.

I also chose this quote from Mendieta, because I found it interesting. The idea that everything is connected, is something that I’ve always believed. I think that through her art work she wanted to convey that message.

 

Leave a Reply

